Tome of Facades

Given Facebook’s apparent status as the favored social network of people in the tech field and people who simply write about it, I decided it was time to join up.  I suppose if even the mighty Penny Arcadians are doing it, I can too.  So far I have to say I’m impressed.  Because of the general idea that MySpace and Facebook are competitors, I had different expectations for what the service would be.  Or rather, for how the service would feel.  MySpace feels like a my page from the Internet yearbook — it’s a convenient thing to link straight to from other services so people can get a quick glimpse of my taste and be inundated by whichever song I’ve got on there.  As others have posited, MySpace is the last bastion of the 90’s home page aesthetic, and that’s a sort of good thing.

Facebook, on the other hand, is as Web 2.0 as possible.  My MySpace profile is referred back to by other services, whereas a Facebook profile serves as a central hub for those services.  MySpace seems to struggle to create a largely contained network, trying label as many services as possible with the MySpace brand.  Facebook lets you plug in services of your own preference.  I can’t help but like that more.

About John Carr

Gamer, comic guy, office drone.

Posted on November 27, 2007, in Internerd. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Yay Facebook! Yay John!

    Yay unnecessary comment!

Leave a Reply

