Chupacabra, Doc. They’re all over the place down here.

It’s been a busy few weeks. Memorial Day weekend was full from beginning to end: Friday night Elise and I took her brother Pierce to the Phillies game, Saturday we went to her Godfather’s fourth wedding and followed it up with Jenny and Jess’s awesome graduation party (pics), Sunday found us at my parent’s house for some great BBQ food before heading back to my place for some Guitar Hero thrashing, and then Monday we made our way to her parent’s place for some more great food.

I didn’t manage to update the comic at all last week. After finishing off with that weekend, I had to read one of the most excruciating books I’ve ever been subjected to. It’s called Ecotopia and it’s by a guy named Ernest Callenbach. Avoid it at all costs; I’m fairly sure the pages carry bird flu. In a more general sense, be wary of any and all works of fiction assigned in classes that are not even remotely related to the study of literature. Anyway, I had to read and write about this piece of crap, on top of trying to get some sort of Planet Steve book ready in time for Wizard World.

Yes, Wizard World, the annual festival during which the Philadelphia Convention Center is transformed into a veritable Mecca for the sweaty spandex-fan set. Until this year. The show was fucking dead. I think we actually did pretty well, considering. We did get our Doppelganger t-shirts, which was pretty great. I’m going to try and set up a PayPal link over on the Doppelganger site soon so the comic and the shirts can be purchased. If anyone is dying to do so before I get this set up, just e-mail me and I’ll take care of it for you. Same goes for Planet Steve.

I have yet to see X-Men 3. I think I am going to remedy this on Friday night. I am experiencing a feeling akin to shame at having not seen a geek movie of this caliber so far into it’s theatrical run. It’s been out for nearly two weeks! The general consensus seems to be that the movie is not as bad as I was expecting it to be. Of course, everybody says it’s just dumb fun, which means X2 it’s not. But I can get into some dumb fun.

I’ve made some changes to the page recently. All of my photo albums are on flickr now. I was recently annoyed to learn that flickr limits you to three organized sets of photos unless you upgrade to a pay account. At $25 for a year, that’s something I’ll consider. But until then, any new photos will just be up there in chronological order. If you scroll down the sidebar you’ll see thumbnails of some of my most recently uploaded images which will link back to my album.

But that’s not the only new addition to the sidebar. As I’ve mentioned before, I’m fascinated by the so-called Web 2.0. My latest toy is the “social bookmarking” service del.icio.us. The site keeps track of how many people link to any given item and one can scan a “Most Popular” list and “Newest” list for the whole site, as well as being able to browse links by tags or simply looking at a given users links. That’s my personal list in the sidebar under the heading “My del.icio.us.” A neat little bit of Javascript keeps that list updated with the 15 most recent things I’ve tagged. What I really like is that all of these lists have unique RSS feeds, including any given user’s list. So I hereby encourage my fellow internerd friends (credit to Ian for the term) to sign up. It’s free, and it’s much better than just e-mailing articles back and forth. Why, you say? Well, let’s say I read ten interesting things in one day (a serious hypothetical on the internet). Not everyone I know is going to be interested in all of them, but if one person I know receives forward e-mails from me on a majority of them, that borders on spam in terms of annoyance. But if I have a list just sitting there that any of my friends can access when they feel like it, well, that’s just sharing. Now, if Mr. Rogers taught me anything, it’s that sharing is good. Well, that and sweaters are sort of creepy. If anyone does follow this recommendation, let me know, so I can subscribe to your link feed.

I feel like I haven’t written about anything reflective or pondering for a while now, which sort of bothers me. Hopefully I’ll be able to change that soon, but today is not that day.

Hopefully I’ll stay on point with Legendary Legends this week. There was a new strip up on Monday, so go check it out.

Finally, Elise got me Deadwood Season Two over the weekend. Looks like it’s time for another marathon viewing of the best show on TV, you hoople-headed cocksuckers.

About John Carr

Gamer, comic guy, office drone.

Posted on June 7, 2006, in General. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

