The Dangers of Mammalian Genital Mastication

This weekend was the first time a good friend in the same age group as me got married. It was also the first time I was in a wedding. Despite some complications and difficulties that occurred, I had a great time. I thought I might have a lot to write about this; I thought that this would cause some deep rumination on life and love. I’m surprised to find it hasn’t. Maybe that’s a real sign of growing up, that I can just take this sort of thing in stride and not be thrown into some sort of philosophical maelstrom by the slightest sign of my own adulthood. That certainly wouldn’t have been the case a couple of years ago. In any case, I will hopefully have a PhotoBucket album set up for the wedding sometime this week. I’ll post the link when it’s ready.

So what do I find myself thinking about today? Not much — it’s surprisingly busy in my little province of Cubiclania today. I have been looking at the SPX site a little bit. I’m getting excited, the show is only one month away as of today. It really is one of the highlights of my year, right up there with Halloween and Christmas. Now I just have to get done my damn mini-comic. I noticed something that bothered me in my wandering around the site. On the page for indy-friendly stores, under New Jersey, appears a listing for Hall of Heroes in the Echelon Mall. I guess all you have to do to be an “indy-friendly store” is pay someone related to the con, which makes this ad space, not the helpful directory it appears to be. Having a few copies of Johnny the Homicidal Maniac and Lenore buried behind mountains of Digimon key chains, wrestling piggy banks, and McFarlane toys does not make someplace a comic book store that is particularly friendly to indy books in my estimation. Frankly, I can’t think of any store that I know of in the area that would qualify for that description — I’ll be the first to admit that Legends would have barely qualified when it was around. The sort of store that can be truly dedicated to offering a wide selection of independent comics can only really survive in a busy, urban market. Nobody’s going to pay the rent in the ‘burbs selling Teenagers from Mars or even something as well known (in the astoundingly relative parlance of the sub-sub-culture of indy comics) as Eightball. As Ian’s pointed out, you might have a shot if you could rent out the spot right next door to a Tunes, and even that’s a risky proposition. But hey, if Hall of Heroes is helping provide some of the cash that helps keep SPX going, I should be grateful, right? Yeah, right. You know how there are people in the South who still won’t admit that they lost the War of Northern Aggression? That’s how my grandkids are going to feel about Hall of Heroes.

About John Carr

Gamer, comic guy, office drone.

Posted on August 23, 2005, in General. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

